First Muslim Congressman ??

I found this on a blog of a young Muslim man living in the States, he seems to be from a Paki roots
A great achievement for the Muslim Community , it is important for the Muslim community in the States with all what happened to them since 9/11 to have to a voice in the Congress in Sh’Allah hopefully
All what I am scared from is the influence of the Zionist Loby in the States can work against this
 
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Muslim Congressman ??

  1. Umm says:

    I do think Muslims need a voice in the States, but I don\’t think it should be in the government. Now before anyone gets mad at me, let me explain. The government is based on mans law not Allah. So a Muslim who is in congress or Senate, what ever it may be will have to conduct his policies around mans law not Allah and that is leading down a bad path. There are some learned scholars who even say it is haram to take part in this kind of government.

  2. Zeinobia says:

    well Um Ali , with all respect i think it is important , already there are thousands of Muslim Americans who in the United States and won\’t leave it to a muslim country , they are minority , and thus they have to live according the american consiutation and laws , they can\’t isolate themselves and that\’s why they need a Muslim american congress man
    Already the Mofty of the Egyptian State made a fatowa saying that it is not haram to live and work according to the non-Islamic rules as long as it is not against or against the their faith or in danger them
    The Muslim community must defend itself in the States and they must n\’t be isolated
    they are not less then the Jews or latinos , most of them are educated and good citizens

  3. ~JehanZeb~ says:

    Asalaam alaykoum,I think I heard about this guy today on Pakistan TV (I\’m Paki, hehe).  I totally agree with Zeinoba about the need to have the Muslim voice in ALL fields, including in the government.  Allah created each and every one of us for a reason.  He gave us all a gift that was created solely for the benefit of humankind.  Some Muslims are very talented in fields such as the arts (poetry, writing, painting, filmmaking, etc.), and so they use that as a vehicle to convey their voice and speak out against injustice, discrimination, and oppression.  On the other hand, there are Muslims out there who are very skilled politically, and we NEED to hear their voices too.  I always tell my Muslim brothers and sisters that in order for us to make the world a better place for our Muslim Ummah, we need to make sure that whatever we do in life, is always for the benefit of helping other people, other Muslims, and presenting a POSITIVE image of Islam to everyone, especially the non-Muslim world.The government may be based on man-made laws, but sometimes, in order to confront the evil, you must do it from within.  Sure, its risky to play the devil\’s game and try to destroy his plot from within, but I can\’t begin to express how much I admire the Soul who takes that risk. I admire and respect all my brothers and sisters for their constant efforts.  Never say that "you wish you COULD make a difference," instead tell yourself "I AM making a difference" because whenever you write something or say something to a non-Muslim about Islam, you are presenting an image of who we are, NO MATTER how SMALL the effort may be, YOU ARE a citizen of this world and you must carry out your purpose because Allah wants you to.Every individual is special and every individual has a Gift to share.  We should encourage that, not discourage it.  Take care and Salaam. Your brother in Islam,~ Jehanzeb

  4. Unknown says:

    Assalam wa Alakum:I\’m very happy to have found this online group Alhamdillah…
     
    In regards to the first Muslim U.S. Congressman, the one who is Pakistani as referenced above, please provide me with his full-name and link, as I have not been able to locate anything online, although I do believe verily this and I particularly need this information for knowledge and also to dispel off the myth that Keith Ellison is the first "potential" Muslim U.S. Congressman, which I know verily to be false, but all Muslim organizations, are touting this false information…
     
    Please provide me with the name of the first U.S. Muslim congressman and may Allah (swt) reward you all!  He lived in California right and in the 60\’s, as I think I overheard someone saying there was even a post office dedicated in his honor!  How come, we don\’t have this information?I do also agree with the above posts, that Muslims need to be more involved in politics…Does anyone have any ideas for single (not by choice, 30 y/o guy like myself here in S.California that is all alone, and knows no-one to get things going?
    I currently work in IT, but find that I am more gifted/geared towards politics, though I don\’t know how to get into it, as I\’m not affiliated with the "right" organization so to speak…
    I can\’t even find a Muslim organization that will return my calls (don\’t want to list any names here)…Let alone, I can\’t even find a nice Muslim/a that shares the collective vision, that together, we need to and can correct our Umma, and that we don\’t necessarily have to be part of any Organization to do so, but can do it on the behalf of Allah (swt)?
    What am I doing wrong?  Could anyone, please help shed light on this Insh\’Allah?
    WHERE IS THE LOVE, I ASK?
    JAK,Samer
     
    sam1one@yahoo.com
     

     
     

Leave a comment